CanadaStudy in CanadaUniversities/Colleges in CANADA
Navitas Universities & CollegesEF - International Academy (IA)CollegesUniversties
  • Dalhousie University
  • Algoma University
  • Redeemer University College
  • Canadian Mennonite University
  • Athabasca University
  • Concordia University
  • Grant MacEwan University
  • The Kings University College
  • Mount Royal University
  • St. Marys University College
  • University of Alberta
  • University of Calgary
  • University of Lethbridge
  • Capilano University
  • City University, Vancouver location
  • City University, Victoria location
  • Emily Carr University of Art and Design
  • Pacific Coast University
  • Quest University Canada
  • Royal Roads University
  • Simon Fraser University
  • Thompson Rivers University
  • Trinity Western University
  • University Canada West
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Northern British Columbia
  • University of the Fraser Valley
  • University of Victoria
  • Vancouver Island University
  • Booth University College
  • Brandon University
  • University of Manitoba
  • Providence University College
  • University College of the North
  • University of Winnipeg
  • Crandall University
  • Mount Allison University
  • St. Stephens University
  • University of Fredericton
  • University of New Brunswick
  • Yorkville University
  • Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Acadia University
  • Cape Breton University
  • Mount St. Vincent University
  • NSCAD University (formerly Nova Scotia College of Art & Design)
  • St. Francis Xavier University
  • Saint Marys University
  • University of Kings College
  • Brock University
  • Carleton University
  • Charles Sturt University, Ontario
  • Dominican University College
  • Lakehead University
  • Laurentian University
  • Huntington University
  • Thorneloe University
  • University of Sudbury
  • McMaster University
  • Nipissing University
  • OCAD University (Ontario College of Art & Design)
  • Queens University
  • Ryerson University
  • Trent University
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Guelph-Humber
  • University of Ontario Institute of Technology
  • University of Ottawa
  • Saint Paul University
  • University of Toronto
  • U of T at Mississauga
  • U of T at Scarborough
  • Victoria University, including Emmanuel College
  • University of Waterloo
  • Conrad Grebel University College
  • Renison University College
  • St.Jeromes University
  • St. Pauls University College
  • University of Western Ontario
  • Kings University College at University of Western Ontario
  • University of Windsor
  • Assumption University
  • Wilfrid Laurier University
  • York University
  • University of Prince Edward Island
  • Bishops University
  • Concordia University
  • McGill University
  • First Nations University of Canada
  • University of Regina
  • University of Saskatchewan
  • Canadian Health Care Academy
  • Canadian VisasLife in Canada

    Cape Breton University


    Cape Breton University

    CBU traces its roots to 1951 when the "St. Francis Xavier University Sydney Campus", also referred to as "Xavier Junior College" (XJC), was opened in downtown Sydney as a satellite campus of St. Francis Xavier University. Growth during the 1950s saw several buildings opened on this site.

    In 1968 the "Nova Scotia Eastern Institute of Technology" (NSEIT) opened in 1968 on the Sydney-Glace Bay Highway, immediately east of Sydney. This institution focused on business technology and trades and its development was largely enabled by federal and provincial funding at a time when the coal and steel industries in Industrial Cape Breton were facing serious challenges.

    In 1974, the first university college in Canada was established on Cape Breton Island in Nova Scotia through an amalgamation of the Nova Scotia Eastern Institute of Technology and Xavier Junior College. The Xavier Junior College was affiliated previously with St Francis Xavier University. The University College of Cape Breton became a public degree-granting institution, and retained technical and vocational programs from the former Nova Scotia Eastern Institute of Technology. Cape Breton University was established by the Cape Breton University Act.

    With small class sizes, unique course offerings and programs and activities all year round; Cape Breton University is your home away from home.

    Located on Canada’s stunning east coast, CBU makes its home on Cape Breton Island. Population of 110,000 residents, the municipality boasts the amenities of a city, with a welcoming atmosphere of a small town.

    In small class sizes, you are more than just a number. Professors get to know their students and will refer to you by name. CBU is a community in itself. Being a small campus helps create a relaxing environment, a sense of belonging and a diverse population from over 50 countries.

    With different courses and programs, an education from CBU can be tailored to your interests. From biology, ethnomusicology, engineering, marketing, nursing, education, CBU has a wide variety of degrees, certificates, diplomas, transfer programs and articulation agreements that will suit your education purposes.







    For more information, please contact  one of our offices

    Study in Australia | Study in the UK | Study in Malaysia | Study in Canada | Study in the USA | Study in New Zealand

    Last Updated: 25 September 2013
                   Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF

    Apply Online

    You can start your application with Studyco by filling out our online assessment form.

    Start Study Assessment

    Apply in Person

    If you prefer to see a Studyco representative in person, go to one of our worldwide offices.

    Find A Studyco Office
    StudyCo Expo 2016